I savor winter break.

This school year, I have almost four full weeks between proctoring my last exam and starting the new semester.

Four weeks! It feels almost indulgent to have this much time. Sure, there is a lot of work to be crammed in there: grading, calculating, crafting four new course syllabi, planning the semester, and trying to figure out how to pay for upcoming academic conferences, but let’s face it: this is pretty much a vacation. A snowy, cozy vacation.

The biggest difference between the school year and Winter break is that I have no student essays to grade. Instead, I play Play Doh with my almost-three-year-old daughter Ruthie, watch Game of Thrones way later into the night than I planned, read as many books as I can that I didn’t get to read in the fall, keep my house a little cleaner, and keep Ruthie home from daycare any time I want.

Oh, and sometimes I get the urge to re-launch my blog!

I’ve been blogging since 2003, but an archive of over 2000 posts was getting daunting. After 10 years of blogging, my web writing had no focus, no consistency. The 22-year-old college student was writing about life in a very different way than the 26-year-old grad student or the 27-year-old new mother. After a long period of thinking and weighing the pros and cons, I’ve decided to un-publish all 2000 of my previous posts and start fresh, with a focus that matches what drives my life: living and parenting as a liberal, a feminist, and a Christian.

Talk about loaded terms!

Here’s what it comes down to, though: I am a liberal feminist Christian. All three of those things are integral to the way I interact with the world. Being liberal means that my fundamental lens for viewing social and political issues is one of equality. Being a feminist means that I believe in the intrinsic equality between all genders and sexes, and that I must work to correct gender and sexuality-based injustices in the world, as well as injustices that exist for anyone who has been disenfranchised by an unjust world. Being a Christian means that I believe in the foundations of the Nicene Creed, and I want to live in a way that reveals the Kingdom of Heaven on earth that Jesus described.

And I want to write about those things. Make sense of them. Figure out the differences between what people think when they hear those terms and what they really mean.

So now, starting at winter break when I have time to do all of this reading and playing and writing, I re-launch my blog with a reinvigorated focus.

In the lyrics Ruthie shouts every single morning when it’s time to head out the door, “HEY! HO! LET’S GO!”

