When I got this job, I had to move from New Hampshire to Indiana in less than a week. Chalupa stayed in New Hampshire for two more months, but I packed up Ruthie and all of our daily belongings and moved into my mom’s basement to start teaching at a university full time.

One of the things I did to make things easy on myself was to pack up all of the books I wanted in my office and ship them to the university. By the time I got to my first day at work, all of my books and office supplies had arrived ahead of me! I immediately alphabetized them on my shelves.

The books I decided to have in my office are all of my nonfiction books, some of which I haven’t actually read.

Here are some of the books on my shelves that I’d like to read in 2013:

The Bible: A Biography by Karen Armstrong–I picked this up in an airport because I thought Ruthie would sleep the whole flight. She didn’t, and I haven’t read the book yet. I need to.

The Memory Palace by Mira Bartok–I started this after I heard Mira Bartok do a reading in Portsmouth, NH, loved it, and then got distracted by school work. I need to go back to it.

Hungry for the World by Kim Barnes–Her memoir In the Wilderness is one of my favorite books, so why, exactly, haven’t I read the next one?

The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan–I’ve used the introduction in numerous classes, but I’ve not read the whole thing.

What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell–I picked this up off a clearance table on impulse and put it on my shelf to read later.

Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi–It has been recommended to me by some trustworthy readers. I once added it to an Amazon order to get me to the $25 free shipping threshold, and onto the shelf it went.

Unfamiliar Fishes by Sarah Vowell–I love the rest of her books. Why wouldn’t I love this one? I actually bought this as a gift for someone, decided I wanted it for myself, and got them something else.

Are there any books that you’ve owned forever but haven’t gotten around to reading yet?

