Note: this post was originally published on July 9, 2011. I have since moved from New Hampshire to Indiana, which means I had to say good-bye to my book club. However, Tina Fey is such a great role model for young feminists that I thought it was appropriate to re-post these party details here on my new blog.

My book club meets once a month, and I was the host for June. We read Tina Fey’s Bossypants, which was pretty great. I decided that I should make SNL and Tina Fey-themed food, and then I went a little overboard. I made way more food than is typically expected at book clubs, but I couldn’t help it! I had so many ideas that I didn’t want to let go to waste. When else am I ever going to host an SNL-themed party?

Food Labels with SNL Quotes

My menu (with links to the sketches that inspired them, if available) ended up being:

Choppin’ Broccoli Veggie Plate

Superfans Cheese & Sausage Platter

Goth Talk Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

Roxbury Brothers’ Fine Champagne

Dr. Baird’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Opera Man’s Mozzarella & Tomato Salad

and of course, Delicious Dish’s Schweddy Balls

Here’s the spread:

(click to enlarge)

I think one of my favorite parts of getting this food ready was making the fun little labels. Sometimes my family and I quote SNL sketches that no one else seems to remember (“I did not see the movie, I was working” is a good example), so I wanted to make sure that everyone understood the connections I was making. Plus, it was an easy way to attach themes with food I was going to serve anyway, like a vegetable platter.

Each label was printed on cardstock and included a quote and a picture. I made them in Publisher, a program that Chalupa says is best described by AC/DC: “Dirty deeds done dirt cheap.”

“I had to work a double shift at Cinnabon” never fails to make me laugh!

