When Ruthie’s in the car and Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’s “Thrift Shop” comes on the radio, I turn it down. “Oh, yeah,” she always says after hearing that initial hook, “that’s the naughty song.”

“Thrift Shop” is the naughty song, full of “bad words” and stuff I don’t want Ruthie to repeat. But let’s face it, it’s the catchiest song on the radio right now, and Macklemore is pretty great.

At first I thought of the Macklemore/Lewis duo as a guilty pleasure, but then I started seeing references to the sort of things he has to say. I haven’t bought his album The Heist, but I have watched his videos on YouTube and read some of his song lyrics.

Yesterday, my friend Neville shared this video for “Same Love,” which is just so moving.

I’m a sucker for love stories, but I’m even more of a sucker for love stories of people who have to fight against the odds.

I love that the wedding in this video takes place in a church, and that the singer at the end repeats those two lines from 1 Corinthians 13: Love is patient, love is kind.

That chapter may be the most overused chapter when it comes to Christian weddings, and yet hearing the verses in this context feels new. The idea that more and more couples are able to marry in their churches is special enough, but think of it this way: for many gay Christians, the Bible has been used as a weapon against them. What a gorgeous image it creates to show two young people in love, using a verse out of the Bible that they refuse to let be twisted and used against them.

Love is patient. Love is kind.

Now excuse me. It’s just raining on my face over here. And I’ve got some more of these onions to cut.

cutting onions

(click to see gif in action)

Update: Chalupa brought my attention to this post, which seems relevant and worth the read.

