I had a post lined up for today about how much it hurts to know that so many Christians in America seem to despise the poor. I even posted a preview of it on my Facebook page, and people seemed excited to read it. However, I don’t think that today is the right time for that post.

Like everyone else, I am thinking today of the tragedy at the Boston Marathon. Boston is a complicated, beautiful, frustrating city–one that I was lucky enough to live near during grad school. I can’t count the number of times I have taken Ruthie into the city to go to the aquarium or to visit friends, and how many events, concerts, and conferences I have attended there. Boylston Street feels so familiar to me, even though I never lived in Boston, and the bombings there are going to haunt me for a long time to come.

I’ll return to regular posts tomorrow. Thank you for understanding.

It might prove comforting to you to listen to “Changes Come” by Over the Rhine. That song always soothes me in times of trouble.

