It’s been a big week for my little blog.

Since January 1 of this year, I have blogged every single weekday about faith, feminism, politics, teaching, writing, and parenting. The factor linking all of this together is the fact that I am a liberal feminist Christian, and I’m trying to sort out the different ways that affects my life: as a parent, a partner, a writer, and a professor. (Darn. I wish writer started with p. That would have made a great alliterative list.)

Before January, I had written more than 2000 posts in a ten year span of time. Those have all been unpublished, because I honestly have no idea what I wrote in some of those early posts. In my long history of blogging, though, I’ve never had a week quite like this one.

First, on Monday my article “Founded Geniuses; Run By Idiots?” was crossposted again to my favorite women’s blog, Persephone Magazine.

Then, on Tuesday my “I Don’t Care If My Daughter Gets Fat” post, which I had published on Jezebel’s Powder Room blog, was promoted to the front page of the site!

Imagine my surprise when today, my post “When Christians Despise the Poor” would take off on Facebook, eventually getting posted to a blog I read daily, STFU Conservatives!

If you are one of the people who has come to my blog via these links, welcome! I’m so glad you’re here. If you check out my About page, you’ll see that I blog about liberal feminist Christianity. The question is: what does that MEAN? And is it even possible? Can a person be a real liberal and a real Christian? What about a real Christian and a real feminist–is that possible? What does it look like?

Well, I don’t know exactly what we’re supposed to look like, but I know that  I’m real. I’m a liberal. I’m a feminist. I’m a Christian. I think there are lots of other women like me–but we just don’t have a very loud voice right now. Christians are so loud, so much of the time that those of us who want to distance ourselves from fundamentalist evangelicalism sometimes feel shy about raising our voices at all, for fear of being associated with the groups we have left behind. I would love for you to join me in these conversations!

If you want updates but don’t use WordPress to follow blogs, consider joining me over on Facebook.

In the meantime, I blog every morning at 8. I hope to see you in the comments sections of my posts!

