Ruthie realizes that I’m going to be away for a long time when I go to India. She might not know how to measure two weeks, but she knows I’m going to be far away for a lot of days. She’ll be extra busy as she visits an aunt in Tennessee and a set of grandparents in Iowa, and I’m hopeful that by keeping her so occupied, she won’t really notice that I’m gone.

As I’ve talked to her about the trip, I’ve tried to remind her of all the fun things she’ll get to do while I’m gone. I also decided to try a little something.

Every day that I’m gone, she’ll get to open a little present from me. I hope that the presents are a tangible way of helping her count down to my return home. When there are just a few presents left, there will be just a few days left. It might work, anyway.

To put together the box of gifts, I had a few requirements:

  • Avoid just making a candy basket, because she hoards candy and never eats it.
  • No single present should cost over $1
  • It can’t just end up being crap that just goes into her toybox, so it all needs to be something practical or something that can be used up over time.

This is what I came up with:

IMG_3126

Not bad, huh? I’m going to miss her so much while I’m gone.

Note: This content is being published while I am out of the country, so my involvement in the comments may be limited until I return.

